Simulation Based Process Optimization for the Milling of Light Weight Components

Freiburg, D.1, a; Odendahl, S.1, b; Siebrecht, T.1, c; Steiner, M.1, d; Wagner, T.1, e; Zabel, A.1, f

1)
Institut für Spanende Fertigung, Technische Universität Dortmund, Baroper Str. 303, 44227 Dortmund

a) freiburg@isf.de; b) odendahl@isf.de; c) siebrecht@isf.de; d) steiner@isf.de; e) wagner@isf.de; f) zabel@isf.de

Kurzfassung

This paper is focused on the virtual five-axis milling of light weight components with respect to joining elements and reinforced as well as functionally enhanced structural parts. The underlying concept here consists of a geometrical model representing the time and space discretized milling process and its ever changing engagement situations. This geometric information is then used to calculate physical process properties like forces and temperatures, which are necessary for optimization tasks and for the reliable prediction of process results. Additionally a decision-tree based process planning system is presented, supporting the user in maintaining knowledge from real and virtual milling processes.

Schlüsselwörter

Milling Simulation, Five-Axis-Milling, Process Optimization, Thermal Load Simulation, Knowledge Assessment

Veröffentlichung

Procedia CIRP, 18 (2014), S. 132-137, doi: 10.1016/j.procir.2014.06.120